Getting the sparkle back

By DomesticGoddess

Japonica

Blipped on my way back from my appointment at the Royal Infirmary to see about my dislocating hip. The surgeon was happy to do the operation and it seems that it will be a six to eight week wait which I guess I shouldn't complain about, given that the wait for a priority operation normally takes six to nine months. I just hope that I don't dislocate it again while waiting for the operation. 

After we had finished the consultation I went outside and sat in the sun, having a look at my diary to see what I might need to cancel because of the operation. The surgeon then came out and said that he had had another look at the x-rays and it seems that the prosthesis has come apart and that there is a plastic part floating about which the ball of the femur would normally sit in. The surgeon thought this was why it was dislocating so easily. I do wonder why that wasn't picked up earlier, given the number of x-rays I've had with all the dislocations! And you have to wonder why it had come apart - it doesn't say much for the quality of the prosthesis.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.