earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Queueing at the Prado (with love)

It was another day spent wandering fairly randomly around Madrid, although we did use the Metro to get a bit further out from our very central location. I was drawn to walk around the seven boobs, supposedly one of the best places from which to view the city. People were nicely posing as nipples on each one, although it proved hard to do them justice with a photograph. The views did not disappoint. Madrid is huge. 

We then went back on ourselves on the metro to the Plaza de Espana and walked another beautiful park. I had no idea Madrid was such a green city. We returned via the Metro to hopefully get free entry to the Prado, which opens to all after 6pm. We hadn't bargained for the length of the queue. We were wilting by then and decided to postpone that visit for another day. When we spotted Enouk and Nehelle (please let me know if I haven't got your names right?) in the queue, loaded up with enormous rucksacks, we felt a bit pathetic.

It was always my plan to take off for an evening run in the Parque de el Retiro and that was amazing, just to appreciate how vast it is and how many thousands of people were using it in the early evening. It was wonderful to witness. My legs didn't find it so wonderful. They were trashed. Might have to be a rest day tomorrow. 

As for choosing what to blip, I had so many pictures of street scenes and fabulous buildings to choose from but, at the end of the day, what I most want to celebrate are the fabulous people I get to meet!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.