A bit of a shock.

 First thought - what if you don't drive, or travel abroad?
Second thought - How can anybody, in their right mind consider this to be "racist"?  
Apparently there's a faction/mentality, ovver the watter who consider asking for photo I D to be racist, as though all the poor not-white-enough folk will find it difficult to comply, despite many being drivers, and with this in mind:-

"DHS Enforcing Critical Identification Requirements to Protect the Homeland.
WASHINGTON - The Department of Homeland Security (DHS or the Department) is announcing that after more than 15 years since Congress passed the REAL ID Act, all 50 states are now in full compliance issuing these cards, with most states becoming compliant in the last four years. To date, the 50 states have issued more than 105 million REAL ID-compliant driver’s licenses and identification cards, representing 38 percent of all driver’s licenses and identification card holders."

THEN - I opened it and read it.
There are , in fact, 21 items listed.  The implication - all 21 are photographic.
I'll spare you the full 21.
6 applicable to Nn. Ireland.
2 applicable to Wales.
1 for the Scots.
2 for Londoners.
1 - Ministry of Defence.
1 - actual "VoterAuthority Certificate"
2 - from 'parts foreign'.

I, personally, have more than I expected; my passport, while photo still accurate would probably not be valid.  That only leaves my "wrinkly" Bus Pass, my Blue Badge and my driving licence.

Despite all that "we three" can think of one person who may not - yet - have any of them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.