Eggs

If you follow my journal you will know that I cook a lot and photograph the results for Blipfoto.

These eggs (from a species of lesser crested seabird) were shipped by air to me as a present from South Africa, where I was born.

I received three, the maximum allowed to be exported, but one was unfortunately broken and the smell so overpowering that I had to discard it.

The remaining two were hard boiled just in case they too had been adversely affected.

I was expecting the albumen to be semi transparent, much the same way as a boiled penguin egg turns out (Penguin eggs used to be sold under strict rules in my day in South Africa and looked much like these.) 

But what surprised me somewhat was the fact that the yolk had settled at one end, and in one case, the entire egg stretched or elongated as you can see.

Quite strange. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.