Snaphappydays

By SnaphappySally

Wilton’s Music Hall

A second trip here after several years to see the brilliant Christine Bovill’s show “From Piaf to Pop. “
What an amazing voice! If you don’t know her, check her out on YouTube, singing in French especially Non, je ne regrette rien of course, but Id recommend “Je t’appartiens”which we know as “Let it be me. “ She sang 50s and 60s songs which were hits both in France and globally, sometimes in the original French and sometimes as a translation, as traditional Chanson Francais gave way to Yé-Yé ( English language pop)…

This is the original 1860’s music hall and perfectly suited to the intimate nature of Christine’s show. She was injured in a car accident on Monday and by all accounts bruised ribs by the way she was carrying herself, but her powerful emotional voice was a triumph as always.

I wasn’t impressed by dinner; vegan Asian- my friends got a 5 course set meal for £28. Being gluten intolerant I got a plate of pickles and a bowl of broth for the same price!
However I’d had a good lunch with my boys earlier tg!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.