Squawkbox

Aside from colouring and kitchen duties, we did take our time to visit SIL Moose and his ex-partner, AW's daughter, because it was eldest granddaughter's 14th birthday yesterday, which was celebrated today.  AW doesn't really know his daughter, whom I'll call Essy.  In a post last January, I had mentioned Moose's announcement that he and Essy were in the past tense, but he did show up today for the birthday.

In the end, while AW chatted away with Son, I ended up chatting with Moose.  We had a loud, ugly row 13 years ago, which is why this is the first time we visited again after those 13 years.  That row is also in the past tense.  Moose and I have been in touch since AW's 70th bash last year.  We now understand why there was a row in the first place, so that's sorted out, but now he wants to (desperately?) keep in touch with us.  At least, he seems anxious to visit, even so far as asking what my schedule at work next week looks like to be sure I'd be home when he called.  He has a brand-new girlfriend, and lives with her, but it's early days and he is being very, very careful not to rush things for himself.  He's definitely not what he used to be and is now suffering from a burn-out, which, he very quietly explained, is due to Essy.  That's sad... but not surprising.

Anyway, eldest granddaughter, whom I'll call Hortense, was thankful for the envelope and for the can of chocolate bonbons AW had prepared.  The rest of the time, she was out of sight gaming with her cousins.  Remembering that I was strictly forbidden, in a most unfriendly fashion, 14 years ago from taking pictures of her, I resolved to shoot her only if Essy wasn't around.  For now, I politely asked permission from Essy to shoot Hortense's parrot, who proved quite cooperative with posing and whistling.

Altogether, quite a Silly Saturday afternoon.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.