Memories

I went to a thanksgiving service today, one for a chap whom I had not seen for over fifty years.  He and his wife were good friends of my parents', working in India and the Middle East for the same bank as did my father.  I last saw them in around 1965 when my flight from Aden back to England (for school) was delayed in Tripoli: my father contacted this chap and asked him to entertain me . . .

He and his wife very kindly collected me from the airport and took me to lunch by the sea, before returning me to the airport for my continued journey to England for the new school term.  I've remembered it all these years, despite not having seen either of the lovely couple since then.  Today was bitter-sweet, greeting the lady on the occasion of her husband's death, but I was able to represent my mother, who was unable to travel.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.