CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

The garden daffodil with hyacinth

On a rare visit to the far end of the garden I noticed some daffodils that I'd planted as bulbs many years ago were flowering. Sadly some beast had been trampling a few of them and their stems and flowers lay flat on the ground beside a tree stump that was growing new shoots in profusion.

I fetched some scissors and cut the afflicted stems to bring them into the house as I thought they might still look good for a few days at least. I put the three flowers that survived in a small vase on the dining room table. You can see this one does look rather weather beaten. 

When I next had my camera out this daffodil caught my eye next to the pot of three hyacinths that have recently bloomed. They came in a small pot from Lidl, and I have to say are very good value. Their smell is classically pungent and the detail of their basically blue colours is rather attractive.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.