La vida de Annie

By Annie

Distracted

This week I'm running around a lot doing things to distract myself from the impending events at and after the weekend. Today's little jaunt was to a photo studio in Liverpool to redeem a cheap offer voucher I had for a makeover and photoshoot; when they asked me how I wanted to look I said "not like a senior citizen or a grandmother". After a makeup job that would have fitted in well with last night's production of Priscilla queen of the desert, I was released into a well-equipped studio and made to adopt awkward and uncomfortable positions in the name of art. As I hate being on the other side of the camera, and am a serial blinker and gurner, I wasn't very hopeful about the results. Unsurprisingly a command to smile causes me to adopt a terrified blank-eyed rictus grin. Didn't enjoy the experience at all, especially as I had to be hauled to my feet after the sitting-on-the-floor shots (my gammy leg won't co-operate, as I can't kneel on that side or put full - considerable - weight on it). You may wonder why I subjected myself to this torture. It was partly vanity; I am going to reach a significant age on Saturday and wanted a decent picture of me before I succumb to old age, but mostly it was to observe how professional photographers operate a studio shoot and hopefully pick up some tips. I can't believe I went out without a camera....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.