twinned with trumpton

By MrFT

On a bus at 9, then the train to Dunblane.

Where we got picked up by founding Braco Branch member Swanny (I'm one of the other two founding members. Maybe more a handful of twigs, than a full on branch). And in his lime green Volvo, we set about the A9 for Elgin. 

See, we'd left at 'if I'm going on Saturday,  I'll give you a shout'. No shout was forthcoming so I messaged him and said I was just checking that it was OK for me to book Kilmarnock v Heartz tickets for Alex and I as Elgin was a bit of a mission by train. 
Aye, I'll give it a miss this week, see you on Tuesday at Forthbank. 

Then 2 minutes later. If you've got a second, gie's a call. 

So I called. Well he says it was supposed to be the opening day of the golf and the Captain v Vice Captain match. But the course is still awfy wet, so they've cancelled it. 

Ooooh, thats a shame I said.

What time you picking me up, then? 

About 11? 

3 hours or so later we rolled into Elgin. Grabbed some lunch and walked up to the ground. Ladies day, so it was. Lots of pink dresses and slightly tipsy folk vaping outside (see extra)

20 minutes into it, Aaron Dunsmore returned a weak clearance from the keeper by lobbing into the net. Before half time Speedy had his 21st of the season and frankly 4-0 would have been about right. I told this to the man weeding the borders at CC.

Another goal fae Robert Thomson and a glaring miss by Josh Cooper before we eased up and coasted to 3 points. All the while nearest rivals Dumbarton threw away a one goal lead to lose 2-1 to Stenhousemuir. I'll not say the championship was decided but with Elgin to come on Tuesday and the very real prospect of an 8 point plus a better  goal difference advantage, it looks a probability more than a possibility. 

Beautiful Sunday was unleashed as we drove south out of town past Ben Riach and Glen Farclas.

A 30 second transfer onto the train at Dunblane, chips at the Jubilee and big smiles all round. Hearts and Hibs both lost so we made the right choice, Hearts being described as abject and ineffectual on the radio as we drove home. No such accolades for the Binos. Bibs was not available for comment.

My only regret was noone asking how Aberdeen got on as we walked up Shandwick Place for the bus.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.