FumblePhingers

By AideDeCat

Mackay Country

Both A and J had work to do today, so I took advantage of the beautiful weather to drive out to Scourie via Loch Shin and then bimble down the road to Lochinver in order to collect some of the famous, and allegedly fabulous, pies.
All my Argyll single-track driving skills came in very handy, with most of the driving done on single-track roads. Not too much traffic around, so enjoyed the scenery. In passing, saw a red kite, a number of buzzards and a stag on the horizon.
Stopped at the Kylesku Hotel for a very good (if pricey) lunch. Probably the bext white wine sauce I've ever tasted on mussels. Got chatting to a young fellow at the next table. He's a Portueguese architect, working in the hotel, and enjoying one of his days off. Good and interesting company and he saved my bacon by spotting that I'd left my blood sugar meter and insulin behind, bringing it to me just before I drove off.
Took the coastal road to Lochinver and detoured out to the Stoerhead lighthouse; waves crashing on the rocks below and a large flock of shags completley unconcerned.
Made it in to Lochinver to grab a coffee and buy some of those famous pies for mine hosts, only to arrive ten minutes after closing. And they said they'd completely sold out in any case. Felt rather cross about that, so entertained myself with a "best progress" drive along the single-track road back to Bonar Bridge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.