‘First’ birthday

I took the day off work because I didn’t know how I’d be today. Last year’s birthday in the middle of B’s illness, pre diagnosis was a non event, but others have always been shared, happy days. 

I started off really sad, opening cards with no one to share with is not much fun. The locksmith was coming at 10, to fix the back door and take a look at the front, just because it ‘feels funny’. So, I pulled myself together, showered, ate some breakfast and felt better. 

He looked at the front door lock, unscrewed it and found the broken bit. It is however very old and discontinued, so he put it back together and said we’d sort that later. It’ll be fine if you’re gentle he said. I’ll do the easy one at the back today. He knew what the problem was, just need to take the whole thing off, replace the inner thing I can’t remember the name of. Out came the screwdriver, but the screws wouldn’t budge. Over the next hour he tried various things to no avail. I’ll have to go buy a tool he said. Off he went, and I walked Dog. I went to the bench, and lo and behold, two people sitting on it eating their lunch. It was very windy, but Dog and I waited until they left, sat five minutes and went home. 

Paddy arrived back armed with more tools, and now the screws are not only still in the door, but mashed and concave too. I’ve got something else in the car he said - but - he forgot to be gentle and I’m sure I heard a swear word, then he said ‘front door’s gone! Now we couldn’t get out at all! So, out through the back, to unlock from the front - at least that worked. This very long story is now shortened, because he had to go home, get more stuff, to fix the front door temporarily. He did have a replacement lock, but it was bigger than the other one, so lots of drilling and chiselling. I won’t lie, my calm demeanour was screwed. While he was out getting the lock i not only crumpled, but ranted at B as well! No idea why I thought it was his fault, but I imploded! 

So, now I have front door that locks, but is very very stiff and has to be pushed or pulled very hard, but it does work. The back, well he says he’s coming back Friday with a tool he’s ordered online. I told him I’d pay him on Friday, so I’m guessing he will come back. He didn’t leave until just before 5pm. 

I gave Alf a couple of thick slices of cake, and had some for lunch! 

Birthday done and I am really glad it’s over. 

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.