Shiva

Today I was very busy, and on top of that I have twisted or done something to my left calf muscle. In consequence, today has been not just run-less, but walk-less; in the sense of not going for a blip finding walk around the streets. The sky was cloudy and the sun hid behind them as it fell below the horizon.

Searching around for something to photograph, I saw our bronze Shiva. In 1996, during a visit to the Indian State of Rajasthan (mostly), we saw this. S fell in love with it, and we carried it with us and back home. Shiva is associated with yoga, which S has pursued, practiced, and generally benefitted from.

Because of the time of day when I took this picture, there was no natural light, and I needed to use the flash. I tried all sorts of positions and angles until I realised that I could avoid the production of massive shadows on the wall by putting it right against the wall. There is still some shadow, but it is less distracting than other attempts. I also made some changes in iPhoto to the darkness and the definition, and this is really what it looks like.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.