The Speaker

Having cleared the way for my boiler installation, the engineer didn't turn up. Worst, I'd left my phone on mute (doh!) from the weekend, so didn't receive the message telling me he was sick and that no-one else was available to attend.  So I'm now stuck with 2 large boxes decorating a corner of the living room until the next appointment in a couple of weeks time.

To cheer myself up I took advantage of the sunny spring weather and headed over to Runnymede for a walk.  My chosen circular walk proved impossible as the walk across the fields to the River Thames were water logged; I think I'd have struggled even in wellies. Instead, I retraced part of my route and grabbed a coffee from the tearoom, which I enjoyed sitting on a bench next to the river.

Runnymede hosts a number of memorials and artworks representing law and freedom.  My blip is one of the chairs from the artwork The Jurors by Hew Locke, installed in 2015 to commemorate the 800th anniversary of the sealing of Magna Carta. This particular chair seemed appropriate for today's Mono Monday challenge of communication. It represents the loudhailer of Harvey Bernard Milk, an American politician and the first openly gay man to be elected to public office.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.