Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Splash

First time along at Bonnyfield Local Nature Reserve in Bonnybridge for a couple of months (the last time was on 3rd February) and I was struck by the contrast between these two visits in a variety of ways.

Today the birds were singing, spring was definitely in the air. and there was a splash of colour in the trees and bushes. The rangers and volunteers had been busy, too, with lots of new tree planting having taken place and attempts in various locations to improve the drainage - several areas of the reserve, including the main paths, have been subject recently to flooding after heavy rain - and the main pond is being completely re-landscaped. The work there is clearly not yet finished and so it will be interesting to see what they have in mind.

I'm leading a Ramblers walk there in early May, so I'll probably pass that way in about three weeks time when I do my recce.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.