One of the Bilbergia nutans flowers

Billbergia nutans
AKA Queen's Tears, or Friendship Plant

I found the Bilbergia nutans plants with their off shoots in a pot in our cabin a few weeks ago and noticed it had flowering shoots. So I brought it into the house to give it more regular warmth, as the cabin heats up like a greenhouse and then cools down like one too.

Last year Incredibish kindly identified the flowers which continue to amaze me. I particularly love the strong blue colour on its flower, as well as the mauve, yellow and green parts. Its form is unusual too. the flowers don't last long and I stupidly knocked into one of the flowers talks which promptly fell off. I did apologise to it. Three became two. 

I'm delighted to find that it is growing off shoots relatively profusely so I may split the plant and give a couple to some friends who are keen gardeners.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.