A 150 year old joke?

I'm working with my great grandmothers autograph book right now.  It is dated 1873, when she was 22.  It is falling apart, missing a lot of pages and many of the remaining pages were scribbled on by her children, my grandmother included.  This page just made me laugh out loud.  There was a fair sized German population in Dutchess County where she lived but when I researched it there was no such name.  The closest I could find was this, "Schnickelfritz" is generally thought to be German slang that a relative would use as a term of endearment for a child. It roughly translates to "little rascal."  Even the town doesn't exist.  I think whoever wrote this was having a little fun with my great grandmother. I'll bet he was the life of a party!

Gift#95: an amusing find.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.