Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

The Alps

I was awake just after four, feeling surprisingly alert, so I decided to get up and head across to Gatwick North terminal to check in my luggage. There weren't that many people, so I was through security and into the departure lounge by about 5.30 a.m. where I spent an hour or so people watching.

The gate opened at 6.30 and I soon found a couple of the Wildlife Travel guests, as well as the two other leaders - the rest of the party soon joined us. The flight was uneventful, and I managed to sleep for part of it, but was fortunately awake as we flew over the Alps, which were looking amazing, with snow-capped peaks and deep U-shaped glacial valleys.

It was rather grey and cloudy as we approached Cyprus, but I was so excited to see the countryside and some familiar landmarks from my last trip. The bus ride to the hotel was took about 90 minutes, which left us time for a local wander before dinner  along a small lane which supported four species of orchid, as well as a population of a yellow-flowered centaury that's supposedly quite rare in the country. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.