Blips by cb

By cbimages

Adventure!

Fifty-two years ago, pretty well to the day, we three set off from London for an adventure – hitching around the Continent during the school Easter holidays.  We were sixteen years old, a South African, a Brit and a Canadian, and I had had to persuade my parents to let me go: they were in India and I still have the letter that did the trick.  I think that this was the first time that we had the rucksacks on our backs and they were heavy!  The friend on the left has just sent this photo; well done he for having the forethought to record the occasion.

We had spent three days in London equipping ourselves, joining the Youth Hostel Association (Charing Cross, in those days) and generally having a rip-roaring time with the money that we should have been saving for the rest of the adventure.  It worked out OK.  No one was hurt.  I learned a bit of German and Danish.  And we had stories to tell on our return to school.

I still have Covid, with a much firmer line on the test device, but I'm confident that it will go shortly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.