another morning... early
thinking about and understanding what Alice wrote...

"I have been starting to learn about surrender, in my work and in my life. I have been starting to believe that it’s better to remove the idea of control from the work entirely. The best I can do is turn up, as a person with some years of experience, and many accumulated hours spent looking at photographs on walls and in books and online, and a set of equipment that both approximates and is responsible for the way I see photographically; and be open to what I find. Marshal the variables in a way that seems right, but without a white-knuckle grip, without frustration, without desperation, without the fear that I am insufficient to the task. Allow myself to be surprised by the results, after the wait to see the pictures; look on them not with a critical eye, but with acceptance and curiosity, the way I do paintings, or the works of others, or children. Assume they are complete and perfect, and respond from that place."

Alice Zoo

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.