Return to sender . . .

Today should have been a happy day, but far from it.
 
Weather permitting the grandkids were coming over for an airgun session, with particular interest in my new pistol as blipped on Sunday.  We’ll come back to that.
 
The day started well enough with a pleasant Biskit walk first thing (the hound is on ‘sleep-overs’ – he slept on Mrs W last night), and breakfast was reasonable, but what set the tone was a taste disorder that I have had for some weeks now deciding to take hold again.  It’s the much the same that I had in 2010 when an abstraction caused a ‘communication’ (hole) between my mouth and nose.  They couldn’t fix it then but it went away, and thirteen years later has reappeared baffling both doctors and dentists.  In 2010 the only mouthwash that worked was ‘Tesco’s Finest Brandy’.  Unfortunately even this doesn’t work this time, but I like to give it the benefit of the doubt and keep trying.
 
The next thing that went wrong was the a shed alarm.  I thought the batteries were flat, but they were full, and after a time checking everything out it decided to work again – further checks required, and I do have a different alarm ready to install.  That delayed me getting the shooting organised.
 
Then it started to rain, just before the grandkids were supposed to appear, and although I had got all the shooting tables out and targets spruced up the drizzle was too much for shooting.  So we played with the new toy from inside the living room shooting at targets on the fence.   That’s when a serious fault with the ‘trigger sensitivity’ came to the fore and safety became paramount and stopped play for the day.  Hence the pistol is all set to return to sender (it will be collected – heaven knows when).
 
On a personal basis I felt rotten with the taste disorder over powering everything.  Mrs W had made a wonderful venison casserole and Biskit woofed his portion back, but I struggled over mine.  I fell asleep straight after dinner, and that’s why I’m blipping this in on Thursday morning.  Taste back to the way it’s been over the past week, so hopefully it will be a better day today. Must get on and make the morning cup of tea now (and empty the dog!).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.