Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

Pegeia

Another superb day on this Wildlife Travel trip, starting with an early morning walk round the hotel, watching the sunrise over the Troodos Mountains, encounters with two beautiful gladioli - the common Gladiolus italicus which grows in fields and along waysides, and the softer pink Gladiolus trifoliata, a species endemic to Cyprus that grows in pine forests - and my first encounter with a well-endowed Naked-man Orchid! I also saw my first Caspian Stonechat, a very smart bird that's a rare visitor to the island. 

While the flowers were lovely, highlight of my day arrived after dinner, when Philip took me outside to watch Egyptian Fruit-bats feeding from a Loquat bush outside the hotel dining-room. Just magical....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.