Beneath Biscay

By Douglian

St. Margaret's Chapel

During our long weekend in Edinburgh we visited Edinburgh Castle and, within it, St. Margaret's Chapel.

Margaret had a very interesting history and for quite a long time I had thought I could trace my family tree back to her via the McDonalds of Keppoch -> Bruce line. However I'd never bothered to actually connect the dots.

Given the visit I decided to do so. As it turned out the connection to Margaret was a near miss. A descendant of Margaret actually married the older brother of my ancestor, moreover he died young, predeceasing his father and the couple had no issue. So that was a slight disappointment. The consolation prize however was that I joined some other dots back to Brian Boru of Ireland.

I find it fascinating, but it's no big deal. Certainly he will have hundreds of thousands, if not millions of descendants, whether they know it or not. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.