atoll

By atoll

Trojan Horses

Today I opted-out of work to go for a walk with Mrs B in our local Tatton Park. She told me we could skirt around the perimeter of the park on a long looped walk. OK said I, but never did I think for a minute our walk would be 11 miles and 4 hours long.

Half-way round, I suggested (begged, probably) we stop in the hall courtyard for a rest and an ice cream. There, I was instantly reminded (especially with it being Easter school holidays and full of children) of the old fairground roundabout ride that seems to have become a permanent feature here.

Without reading-up on it, I would have just described this old traditional ride as a carousel - which apparently is a big mistake. I am now reliably informed that a carousel turns anti-clockwise, with the horses on them often different to one another and ‘prancing’. In contrast, I believe that a ‘Gallopers’ is the British term for a ride which turns clockwise (like this one).

Conscious of talking a snap without any children was tricky, but there was just one quadrant of the ride that was still empty - hence this close-up here of ‘Troy’ and ‘Gary’.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.