WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Weight-bearing

The ceremonies are intensifying. I bottled out of last night's midnight procession and decided to go to one at a more civilised hour today instead. I was glad that I a) set off very early and b) took the precaution of wearing my hiking shoes, because town was rammed. I had to park near the beach and walk about a kilometre to the start of the procession. Once again, I just caught the back of it as it was leaving the church, but knowing the route I was able to nip down a parallel street to gain a prime position before it arrived. 

There were actually two processions that left the church half an hour apart, so once the first one had assembled on the main drag I nipped back up to the church as the second one was leaving. I had a very good vantage point on the terrace of the Casa de la Cultura. And photography is a lot less challenging in daylight. I was very spoilt for choice -- I loved this one, but my alternative blip is this one. Freespiral, this one is for you :) Do have a look at the album for more.

I wasn't up for following the joint procession round the circuit for hours, so once they'd joined up I ambled back to the Plaza de la Constitución for a reviving glass of wine. It was calm up there, in fact the parts of town where the procession wasn't passing were very quiet. Afterwards I strolled along the seafront back to the car in the gentle light of dusk.

Yes, there are more tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.