Jelley Baby Days

By jelleybaby

Let's Open the Door.

That's my intention after I get over yesterday, spent with fabulous people at the Urology Department of the Royal Gwent Newport, I arrived at 7:15am for my 7:30 appointment was booked in and Covid Checked all OK onto the ward more checks labelled up on both arms, marked clearly on my right side, changed into a surgical gown and Pressure socks and then waited First the anaesthetist did I want to be completely out or a Spinal, opted for the Spinal Choice, then the Registrar to explain what was being done which was just confirming what I have dreading since last November, then the Consultant a lovely Lady who introduced herself as Stella, nice touch, asking if I'm good to go 1st on her list, I politely said Yes, so I am on my way, down two floors to the Theatres to have the tube between my Right Kidney and my Bladder the ureter tube fitted with a Stent to support the wall as it had a restriction, which I was totally unaware of until a blood test in November suggested reduced Kidney function. So for the next hour and half I had my own monitor to watch them prod and push, to fit the stent, and felt nothing. I heard Stella say all done, and I was transferred to recovery, and then back to the ward for lunch which was very nice, monitoring all afternoon and drinking litres of water then seen by the Consulant at about 5:30 she took one look at the urine in the Catheter that's good nice and clear you can arrange to go home, but will need too keep the Catheter fitted for the next two weeks, which I was unaware of, but Hay Ho I can go home and hopefully they have prevented any further deterioration of the Kidney, which as I am now on the lists will be monitored regularly and the stent changed every 6 months which apparently is much simpler now, we shall wait and see, so we are going to have a very quiet Easter, so Happy Easter everyone who follows me and to anyone who works for the National Health Service.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.