Lost in Melbourne

By MaxwellDoan

Peace

Hawthorn. 

Hawthorn is a place where everyone is either rich or filthy rich and their house is either crazy or visually insane. The whole surrounding suburb is filled with trees and me spending 18 years in the city couldn't imagine what it is like in the suburbs. 

The people around here are so friendly, like scarily friendly as I was taught to be wary of nice people. Back where I came from, people who act nice to you tend to have favor in mind or have other intentions with you. The people here are acting out of their own kindness, they are genuinely good people, and that really surprised me as I always thought they were more discriminative against us.
(Guess racism did end)

Back in Hanoi and in Springvale, I never had a silent day in my life. The sounds of the cars revving, vendors hollering for customers, people chatting, construction, school drums, police patrol, my neighbor's wife arguing with her husband, and I left all of it to live in a place where people sleep at 5 PM and there are no street lights so when it gets dark, I better be inside. Drastic, I know. 

It is nice though, finally enjoying the quietness.

Peace

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.