Recording

I had to record the Yasheen Story to role model a rich introduction to course participants who I will be with later in the month and who will each have to do their own rich intro. in their small working groups, all to encourage closer connections, exploration, discoveries, learnings and better solutions.

It was the first time I’ve done it on video and was concerned the impact would be reduced. I tried to make the setting as informal and as intimate as possible, using the sofa room with doors closed with my iPhone mounted on a bendy contraption that clips onto the desk edge as the recoding studio set up and wearing a casual checked shirt over a T shirt.

I added in a line amandoAlentejo shared with me recently about there being more than one way to be a father and that, on top of Kendallishere’s line about all children being our children but some are closer than others, clearly had a deep impact on me. The story and the subsequent explanation ran to 8 minutes 14 seconds - I knew I had to do it in one take only without a script with my eyes directly into the lens to keep it fresh and raw.

Talk about feeling vulnerable and putting yourself out there - 35 complete strangers are going to view it as part of their program pre-work!

From the future, now posting the link to the video…

https://youtu.be/hVl0XYrQXzA?si=F6ZnNu3KwXbpFvbz

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.