DDW

By DDW

Anjouan, Comoros

Another scorcher of a day here in the Comoros, and another interesting walk through the crowded medina, and market place where we saw all sorts of fruit and produce for sale, along with many mysterious spices all packaged in recycled plastic soda bottles.  Also lots of woven baskets, brightly coloured clothing, jewelry, shoes, chickens, etc.

This lady named Berline singled me out from our group and asked our guide if she could speak with me.  She wanted to give me a wooden cow that she had carved, so that I could take it back to America and tell everyone about Anjouan!  The paste she is wearing on her face is a traditional masque that the ladies wear here, made from sandalwood.  It protects their skin from the sun, and also serves as a moisturizer.

Extra:  The cow Berline carved, along with a traditional lady's cloth that they wear as a dress, but that I plan to use as a table cloth, and the garland of fragrant flowers that was given to me when I arrived at the port after our Zodiac ride from the ship.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.