Wood anemone in Hibernian colours

Apparently Rangers have been playing Celtic today. When I left my flat , other people were emerging, some wearing Rangers tops. I’ve had this all my life. I went to a school where everyone supported Rangers. So I chose Hibernian. Later my uncle pointed out to me that Hibs were ‘a Catholic  team.’ I just thought they were a good football side. In the Scotland of 2023, the sectarian divide lives on. It’s not about football, it’s not about religion either, it’s about sectarian tribal loyalty. I hate it and I’ve always hated it. This stuff doesn’t just apply to football. One year when I was living in Kilmarnock, the word went round that if you were drinking and driving during the festive period, it would be wise to place an orange coloured fruit on your dashboard. (Not a lime.) ‘Careful how you go, sir.’
Extra photo: The Muirton Locks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.