Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Little Grebe (Tachybaptus ruficollis)

Or Dabchick. I'd seen a family in the local canal when i went out to use the IR camera for the first time, a pair and three chicks. The early sunlight was the best light for the area where they were 'nesting'. Rather it was a muddy pile, but obviously home to them.

I have to say I am a might frustrated. I have a shot of one of the adults on the nest, with two chicks peeking out from under the wings. It was a winner, but for a long reed leef cutting across the adults body. I've been known to carry out some 'gardening' from time to time, but this was utterly impossible as the nest was on the far side of the canal.

So instead you have a lone adult and even then it is a 'bum' shot. Quite an apt term, I think!

I will be going back before the chicks get too big.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.