LeeAnne

By LeeAnne

Dundee...

So given my car is fucked technical term I booked the train to Dundee so that I could get my hair done. I've been growing out the grey for the last few years cause I'm too lazy to keep up with root maintenance but I saw a lady with curly hair like mine in the street and she looked about 90. She wasn't but I immediately thought eurgh I'm not doing that. 

I was out the house and on the first bus of the day at 8.45am. So far so good. Into Starbucks for a giant coffee and onto the train in plenty time. Got to Dundee at 10.40am and thought I'd be brave and wait for the bus at 11.10am to take me to Newport. I hung around and took some photos and noticed a guy at the bus stop that I'd seen when I arrived. I had my headphones in so didn't realise he was speaking to me initially but he asked if I was waiting for the 77... he said he'd been waiting for the previous one which didn't turn up so he gave up and went for a pint. I suspect he'd scooped more than one... I'm a magnet for the drunk geezers. 11.10am came and went so I decided not to risk it and went round to the taxi rank. Not a taxi in sight so I googled and rang one. The man on the phone asked me if there were none there... I considered this a particularly stupid question but tried to hide my eye roll... had he been looking at me he'd have realised his error, my face cannot hide those expressions. He said he'd send several... I only need one but I kept my trap shut.

A taxi duly arrived and I made it to Newport in the nick of time. Four hours and too much money later, this is the end result. I think there's a good chance that this is turning out to be the two most expensive weeks of my life! Still... you're only 50 once and I'm now telling myself that I can easily pass for 40 ish. Sally is a superstar and dropped me off at Cupar station so I could get the train home again. Even had time for a coffee. 12 hours later I'm home and considering what I can flog to pay for my week of treats and my car repairs! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.