'Beautiful and Bizarre'

When I posted a macro of a very colorful local treehopper a couple of weeks ago 'Treehopper', I had no idea that I would become just a bit obsessed with photographing the tiny insects. I found this one on our sliding door screen. It sat very patiently while I snapped many photos of it from all angles. I was particularly fascinated by its eyes. Check the *extra...for a 'head-on shot' showing it's beautiful faceted eyes. Turns out that treehoppers come in over 30 species and range from the rather drab to the absolutely flamboyantly colorful. They dine on tree sap and like mosquitos, their saliva contains a substance which prevents the tree from stopping the sap flow until the 'hopper is finished dining. Mother treehoppers guard and protect their young from predators and some develop 'mutualistic' relationships with ants in which the ants actually protect them from predators. They communicate using vibrations which can carry along a branch for up to a meter. ( I told you that I've become 'obsessed') If you'd like more info on the treehoppers, do check out this interesting article by 'The Smithsonian': 'The beautiful and bizarre treehopper.' Wishing All of Us a Peaceful Week and a Very Joyous Easter to all who celebrate!  m

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.