Paladian

By Paladian

Shocking Truth

The last of my extras today is a really boring shot of a couple of steps, and brown line on the wall and a elevator door. 

If I made that my main image, no-one would look at it, so I'll tell the story and you can look for yourselves.  The truth about Venice is that, yes, it's extremely expensive.  Whatever you think it will cost, double it and you'll be about right.  Do we resent the cost?  Absolutely not.  The fact is that Venice is still struggling with the aftermath of the devastating high tides of November 2019.   Add to that the pandemic and you'd begin to understand what Venice is facing in terms of restoration and cost.  

I have never ever seen anyone work as hard as the Venetians.  Everything has to be brought in by boat, and trundled by hand through the streets and lanes.  The garbage collection is a man with a large hand truck who goes through the street early every morning, knocking on doors, and physically taking bags of rubbish from inside the houses and apartments and adding them onto his large hand truck.

The place is immaculately clean, no litter, no rubbish.

So anyway, back to the image in extras - the thin brown line on the bottom left of the picture shows the high tide mark on 12th November 2019.  On me it would come well above my knees, and I'm not short.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.