Pictorial blethers

By blethers

As ordered...

Blipper Sally told me yesterday that I had to take it easy and eat chocolate, so this blip is for her, to show that I was doing my best ... 

What I didn't feel up to relating last night in my blip was what had happened to me an hour or so earlier, when I fell asleep watching the telly - with a mug of tea in my hand. Not good. Fortunately I had pulled a fleece throw over myself because the heating had gone off, so the hot tea had a few layers to get through, but it was a tad traumatic nonetheless. 

Waking up was reluctant - I was awake, thinking of getting up, then finding I was sleeping again back in the dream I'd not long left. Breakfast went on till well after 10am, though when I then noticed that it was sunny I washed a bundle of cold-weather tops and hung them out in defiance of the weather forecast - and I triumphed. No rain. I did a little genteel plant-pot weeding and tidying - not too much, just enough to feel I'd done something. I was doing my best to have a normal, relaxing morning, and continued on into the afternoon, when we went for a walk in Benmore Gardens to see if the magnolias were coming out (just) and if there were any squirrels ( we saw one, and a medium-sized deer lolloping up the hillside just ahead of us.) 

And though all this was good and well, I was feeling deflated. Holy Week and Easter is such a big, glorious, emotional, weighty package in church, especially if you're actually doing something, like singing, so that when it ends, no matter how tired I feel, I feel the emptiness, the let-down of its completion. And it's at times like this that I know how fortunate I am at my age still to have a job to do - not a paid job, but something that provides a service, makes a difference, fulfils a role. 

In fact, once again Shakespeare had it just right, in this passage from Henry 4:1 
 If all the year were playing holidays, 
To sport would be as tedious as to work; 
But when they seldom come, they wished-for come, 
And nothing pleaseth but rare accidents.


Photo is of my favourite coffee mug (a Golden Wedding gift from friends we met when we first came here) and a Maltesers rabbit courtesy of a friend in church who does lovely things with flowers and embroidery.

And chocolate rabbits.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.