It's WHAT?!?

Four Forks ACHE!!! 
WHAT  have I just made????????
I can't decide whether it's Cread OR Bake.  
Maybe it's Ameribread?

I ran out of Bread and didn't actually need anything else worth a shopping trip.  BESIDES after taking 45 mins. to escape Morrison's Car Park one year we never again tried to shop (OR travel much) on either a Bank Holiday OR the preceding Friday.

I was kinda thrown seeing a weight. The 1/4oz yeast, lulled me into not realising it was an American recipe.  It seems "they" never took weighing scales when they emigrated and all their Recipes are in volumes.  Additionally the primitive "warm" water at 110˚/115˚  ought to have been another clue. 10˚ above boiling is NOT "warm".

Be that as it may, the recipe said "Bread flour", the Packet I used said "strong white bread flour", what could go wrong?
THIS:-
I forgot Americans put Syrup on bacon and seem to have NO idea of savoury whatever.  The THREE tablespoons of Sugar ought to have been a clue.  Good job I remembered their Tablespoons AREN'T and only added the three Dessertspoons full of sugar.  
No wonder so many of them are "a bit on the cuddly side".

They came out Loaf shaped, they look, superficially, like bread; they have the texture of, and taste like, Cake.  I ate 1/2 of one Loaf last night. 

The strange wrinkles atop one is as a result of it laying down side up on a curly wire Microwave tray.

I may make Bread again BUT I'll not make whatever the great grey green greasy Limpopo THIS is  -  unless I fancy Cake for Tea.


;¬ )

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.