GracieG

By GracieG

The Lady in Pink

Following our carpet cleaning yesterday, M and I have spent the day doing housework, putting the furniture and rugs back into position and working our way through a couple of boxes of 'old' paperwork.  We're part way through a loft clear out and made a couple of interesting discoveries.  One of which is this pink opaque glass rose bowl with a statue 'stem holder'.  It belonged to my grandmother and my guess is that it might be Victorian.  The statue had broken off the stem holder base sometime in the past and had been glued.  However that repair had failed and it had come apart again.  I've managed to repair it and so thought I would test it out with some flowers and water.  All good.

The other discovery was my very first DSLR camera that M bought me as a complete surprise when he saw me struggling to take an 'arty' photo with a compact camera many years ago.  I had replaced it with a newer model since then but we lost the original.  We have moved house since, and thought it must have got left behind in the loft at our previous property or got lost in transit.  We found a small zipped up bag when we up in our loft the other day and to our delight my old camera was inside, it's been in there for over 7 years.  We had all the accessories except for a lens, so M ordered a second hand lens and now it's good to go.  We'll keep it in the car in case we spot a promising landscape or sunset we want to capture for him to paint.

We've still got a few things in the loft to sort out but it's amazing how much 'stuff' we've managed to get rid of.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.