Missing the Grandchildren

Because of my illness, I haven't seen Bella or Evan since mid-March, and today for the first time in ages I went out to do a few errands on foot and passed by the playground where I have often taken them during cherry blossom time. The playground has been redesigned and refurbished since Bella and Evan were toddlers, but it felt empty, and I noted with some alarm that splotches of red paint have been left on the grand old cherry tree. I hope the splotches are not a sign that the tree will be taken down.

I am overwhelmed and deeply touched by the enthusiasm for my last post. I haven't had the energy or clarity to respond to all the comments, but I have read them all and am grateful and a bit embarrassed. What affirmation! Thank you, thank you.

My thanks also to Ceridwen for a wonderful gift that arrived today: The Secret Life of Cows, by Rosamund Young. I had the great fortune in the 70s to live in a little shack in Louisiana with baby Seth, just the two of us for a year and a half, surrounded on three sides by cow pasture. I got to know some of the cows, and I am happy to see that Young's much deeper knowledge of cow behavior affirms what I thought I saw then but did not comprehend. She writes in the introduction, 

"Cows are as varied as people. They can be highly intelligent or slow to understand; friendly, considerate, aggressive, docile, inventive, dull, proud or shy" (1). I can scarcely put the book down long enough to post this, but I had to come say thank you, thank you to her and to each of you who dropped by to welcome me back. Thank you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.