shotbyrichie

By shotbyrichie

Remembrance

This is the USS Arizona Memorial, located at Pearl Harbor in Honolulu, Hawaii which I visited today.

It marks the resting place of 1,102 of the 1,177 sailors and Marines killed on the USS Arizona during the attack on Pearl Harbor on 7 December 1941 by Japanese imperial forces and commemorates the events of that day. The attack on Pearl Harbor and the island of O?ahu was the action that led to the United States' direct involvement in World War II.

May is also a time of remembrance for me as I remember my 22 lost crewmates killed on-board the frigate HMS Ardent on the 21 May 1982 during the battle of Falkland Sound. So this opportunity to honour fellow sailors lost to the sea in battle was one I did not want to miss during my time in Hawaii.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.