Small Places

By PicLocata

Two old cameras

I was comparing the two oldest camera still in my possession for a photo club project.

The Yashica Electro 35 GSN is a genuine rangefinder from the early 70s. The light seals need replacing and it isn't worth buying a special battery to see if it still works. Looking at my old photos, either the lens wasn't as good as earlier cameras I had, or I never adjusted to the shallow depth of field from the bright lens.

The Olympus E-P2 is a "rangefinder style" camera with an optional plug-in electronic viewfinder. It still works fine, and I like the way it handles, even if the sensor and kit lens aren't quite up to modern standards.

What struck me was the hot flash-shoe standard. It hasn't changed in over 50 years! (Well, not quite. The voltage from an old flash gun might fry a modern camera.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.