My days ...My life

By ElspethAnne

Friends for life

Arthur is my oldest friend .
The person I played with before we started school at 5 years old, who stood up for me in the playground jungle when I first realised how unkind people could be , and spoke of friendship at my wedding to J in 2005 . He has been a constant positive presence in my life.
This is the year we all turn 70 and a wee group of us celebrating A's birthday today. M , sitting on the right in the photo, was in Oban High School with me and we have a special friendship that spans lots of years too. They are wonderful creative people and I love them both.

Later this year M and I will have our August birthdays and I'm sure there will be another celebration then. Hopefully in the sunshine !

I listened to this beautiful programme called 'No need to say goodbye ' on radio 4 today which resonated with my thoughts and feelings after our meeting.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sounds/play/m001kwz3?partner=uk.co.bbc&origin=share-mobile

It's about the importance of friendship and also about love, loss and grief.
One of the participants said ' Grief is love with nowhere to go ' I will listen to it again as I missed the beginning when I was driving.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.