Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Just a deer...

Until you look at his feet!!     Nature's wildlife will always surprise you!   This was taken at dusk last night as this lone deer came into the yard to the feeder.  It is a male as you can see his antlers are just starting to grown.   

But his hooves are magic elf slippers!!   He had no problem walking as he rambled around the corn and a little into the yard.   My heart was knocking as before he started walking I was concerned that he would have a rough time moving around...no problems at all.  I don't know about running though.  

We are hoping he makes it to a ripe old age.  We think he might be 2 years old based on his size but maybe he was born this past summer.  We definitely have not seen him with the normal herd that comes to the yard.

I had an interview with the church people yesterday afternoon and now have a part-time job as the secretary.  Two days a week, probably Wednesday and Thursday with about 5-6 hours a day. I can work with this and still do my hiking and road trips on the other days.   They have not gotten completely in to the 21st century on doing some of the work so I hope I can get that upgraded in the next few months.  Slow and steady so I don't step on anyone's toes!    I will meet with the lady who has been doing the work tomorrow.  She has stepped up to keep it going since the unexpected death of the former secretary.  I will probably work with her for the rest of April and take over on my own the first week of May.    Looking forward to using my work skills again and having some play money will be nice!!

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.