Kit's Year

By Kit267

This Beautiful Emerald Basilisk

I have always loved reptiles and amphibians and kept lizards at university, I have always wanted to see lizards in the wild and especially iguanas…in fact it is on my bucket list of ‘50 things to do before I am 60’…..today we saw them a plenty (see extras for the iguanas but I couldn’t resist blipping this beautiful Emerald Basilisk).

We went on a 5.30am 2 hour boat trip along the canals and waterways into the rainforest, came back to the hotel for breakfast before heading out for another 2 hours. We saw so much…sloth, monkeys, toucans, lizards, caimans, turtles, herons, vultures and kingfishers, all chugging quietly through secondary rainforest.

In the afternoon we joined a walk up Tortuguero Hill, the only volcano in the area and probably not as strenuous as it sounds! We ended up with a tremendous view though across the area as it’s the highest point in an otherwise flat region.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.