Laviniafp

By Laviniafp

Taking a break

This mated pair spent the entire afternoon on the patio outside my sliding glass door. They were totally relaxed and dozed much of the time. When I went to the shed to get birdseed for them, they got up and trundled after me (which tells me they know where the birdseed is kept) and then followed me back to the eating area where they ate a bit and then dozed some more. 
Right now there is very little water in the creek where they normally live, so I suspect my back yard seems ideal to them. However, ducks are messy, and when they finally left in the late afternoon, I had to hose down the patio to get rid of the duck poop. 

The park will be putting up dams along the creek in the near future, which means there will be more water and the ducks will probably start having babies, so this is most likely a temporary situation. Messy as they are, I still love having them hang out. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.