Assassin Living in a Pretty Pink Palace

The news from the yard is that the pink daffodils and poet's daffodils are starting to come into bloom; and on this day, the first red tulip opened. Each day brings more colorful blooms in Ellen's Bulb Garden. There are cardinals singing all around our house. The bunnies are hopping. The bats - three, maybe four - are out performing flying circus maneuvers at dusk; and perhaps, more.

I went out in the morning to water the daffodils and tulips, for these summer-like days are so toasty and warm, I'm afraid the posies will all frizzle up! And I discovered what I think is a variety of assassin bug, holding court inside a pink daffodil. Wow, it's sitting there waiting to murder whatever other bug gets lured into the pink blossom. I'm sort of in awe. Above is the closest view in the photos I took. Isn't life strange!

Somehow, this is the song I was reminded of: Bruce Springsteen, with Pink Cadillac.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.