Farewelling Dave

Up early to attend my uncle's funeral, which for a couple of reasons I was unable to attend in person. So virtual it was - the first one I have attended in this way. It was actually OK, much to my surprise (the virtual part, I mean). His wife gave a very nice eulogy and it was quite straightforward and moving. In fact, I could even almost hear my uncle giggling at one point. The Reverend W had the most appalling voice - and hymns that should have been recognisable weren't... in life, this would have had Dave in hysterics. It wasn't so much that his voice was bad (which really, it was), but that he had the amazing ability to jump an octave in mid-syllable. He was the vocal equivalent of Les Dawson's piano playing. Fantastic. Of course, as Dave was so passionate about Liverpool, YNWA played a prominent part and, also of course, the Reverend happened to be of the Blue Persuasion. Didn't stop him humming along though... out of tune. 

Other than that, a non-descript morning and early afternoon. And, because I know you're curious, the weather is still lovely.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.