Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Better than expected

From this to this. Hallelujah!

Up at 6:30 to have breakfast and take my morning tablets, then used my app to call a taxi to St Vincent's hospital, the scene of the 10-hour emergency department wait to have my broken elbow seen to.

I was determined not to be too excited about the prospect of a positive x-ray resulting in casting off the plaster cast and being fitted with a brace instead. I was in and out of the bone and joint clinic very quickly. The outcome really was better than expected. The cast was removed. I'm to wear a sling for two weeks and return on the 28th for another x-ray.

There was more than a hint of doctors differing and patients dying about the encounter with the medical team, with being in such and overkill plaster being considered unnecessary in the first place. Mind, you, the senior consultant did tell me that surgery would normally be resorted to (inserting a plate). My 'advanced years', dictated that it's best to let nature take its course: hence the sling.

It's good to be back to two-handed typing. Driving is a no-no, of course, until the 28th at least.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.