‘A teacher is one who makes himself progressively unnecessary.’ 
–Thomas Carruthers

This afternoon I changed role from JJ's English Lit GCSE tutor to JJ's Art GCSE tutor and talked him through some options for his exam project as he'd been struggling to come up with something that he was happy with. By the time he went home he was, dare I say it, smiling. I was happy too, because although the ideas and decisions are entirely his, I helped him to get there by directing the conversation and asking the right questions. Oh I do love teaching.

‘I never teach my pupils; I only attempt to provide the conditions in which they can learn.’ 
–Albert Einstein

Bro came later and we went to the Gardeners pub for good 'ol Friday night fish and chips washed down with a couple of pints of Greene King IPA. 

Late evening and no photo - so here's a sketchbook collage I did to demonstrate to JJ one way of expressing ideas.  Made fairly quickly with what I could find around me, it's a rather silly message, (like most his age, he spends too much time at home on line, imo!!) but then, by the time I was ready to zz, it was officially 'Silly Saturday" ....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.