GrahamMcArthur

By GrahamMcArthur

Someone

I don't know who.

Late insert -
I see that overnight (my time) subscriptions was changed to friends. I don't have any issues with this. I do check on every blip I have subscribed to and every blipper who has subscribed to my journal. I also like to at least make a small comment if I have time, but of course this is not always possible.
I have no problems calling my fellow blippers friends, except it is another step closer to farcebook which I dislike.
I do have a farcebook page and a twitter account to keep in touch with family, friends and colleagues around the world. So naturally I linked my blip journal to both of these as is encouraged by blip. This did allow my friends outside of blip to access my journal if they chose to do so, and many did. But not now.

Last night at the track Michael whose candid portrait I blipped recently, told me that he liked the little thumb nail that gets auto posted to farcebook via blip. He wanted a copy but when he tried to view on blip he only got a message telling him to join up. He couldn't even view one journal entry. Kellie told me the same story.

This saddens me. Clearly blip sees the auto links to farcebook and twitter not as an individual sharing their journal but solely as a means to push membership in peoples faces. Because of this I have disconnected the links to these sites and will now no longer share my blip posts outside of blip.

I joined blip for a couple of specific reasons - which I wont go into now; but those who do know me well [or think they do - I am an expert at hiding things] would be shocked at my blip entrees.
Photography aside, more of me has been revealed in my blips than even members of my family or close friends knew about. And now some more revelations.
For example; I have been playing guitar since the age of 12 and began making guitars in circa 1980. Only a few select people have seen my guitars and only one person has ever heard me play guitar live - my former music teacher. In the last two years I have recorded and produced 4 albums of electronic ambient music - not one member of my family, has ever heard this music nor are they even aware of the existence of these albums. Only one friend has heard all albums.
In the last five years I have sold or given away in excess of 400 fine art paintings in 6 exhibitions and at several conferences - not one member of my family set eyes on any of these paintings. I keep none of my artwork longer than 24 hours and certainly none in my house. Sometimes I make scans of these paintings, but more often than not I can't be bothered. I have never photographed any.

Recently I was talked into agreeing to a profile on me and my artwork to be published in a magazine in June. They have requested that I hand letter the articles title and also send a 'suitable photograph' of myself for publication. With luck the deadline will pass and I can avoid at least that small public humiliation.

Anyway I have gone way off topic. The point I am making is that I joined blip for a specific reason and a specific purpose - reasons that if they have not been made clear in my blips and particularly in this one, then short of really standing naked before you all, I don't how I could explain why I feel saddened by recent back door changes to blip. because now I must carefully think about leaving before my personal goals have been met. I will wait a little longer and carry on in the hope that blip does not go the way of farcebook or flickr or momentile or eyeem or...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.