Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Bride on a Bridge

And a Bridegroom, and Bridesmaid.

For several years until the start of the pandemic I held a season ticket at Bedford Rugby Club.  Covid ended the season prematurely in 2020 and then later that year we moved house.  What was my local club previously was now a 220 mile round trip so, whilst I meant to go back from time to time for a game I never got around to it.  There is a local rugby club here but it's not quite the same; where Bedford might get a crowd of 2500 - 3000 the local club might get 100 supporters on a good day, just standing around the pitch, so nowhere near the atmosphere of a League club.  A few weeks ago I decided it was time I made the trip so today I drove over to Bedford for the match against Jersey.  Quite a good game with level scores until a couple of minutes from the end when Jersey scored a try, so it ended 26-19 in their favour.  The elderly chap I used to sit next to wasn't there; I wonder if he has just stopped going or, well, you know.....

I was a little early so had a wander down to the Embankment to take a shot of the bridge.  I was lucky with the timing, as this pair of newlyweds were just coming over the bridge pursued by their bridesmaids and the photographer, so added interest to the shot.

Now back home after a long but enjoyable day.  I will have to make a point of going over for at least a couple of matches each season.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.